Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022)
The Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) is a wireless keyboard with fingerprint authentication for Apple Silicon Macs. It offers a sleek, comfortable typing experience and long battery life. Includes a USB‑C to Lightning cable for pairing and charging.
Complete Your Setup
View allCompare Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) with Similar Products
Compare Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) specs, features and price with similar keyboards and alternatives.
Comparison full
0 spaces availableGeneral
| Specification | Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) | Logitech G G915 TKL Gaming Keyboard | Microsoft Surface Pro Signature Keyboard | Apple Magic Keyboard (2021) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brand | Apple | Not specified | Microsoft | Apple |
| Model | Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (USB-C, MXCK3LL/A) | G915 TKL | Surface Pro Signature Keyboard | Magic Keyboard (MLA22LL/A) |
| Announced | 2024 | 2020 | 2021 | 2015 |
| Type | Wireless keyboard | Wireless mechanical gaming keyboard | Detachable keyboard cover | Wireless keyboard |
| Layout | Compact | Tenkeyless (TKL) | Compact notebook-style | Compact |
| Color | White and Silver | Carbon or White | Black; Platinum; Sapphire; Forest; Poppy Red | White and Silver |
| Material | Aluminum enclosure with plastic keycaps | Aircraft-grade aluminum alloy top case with steel-reinforced base | Alcantara-covered keyboard deck | Aluminum enclosure with plastic keycaps |
Keys & Switches
| Specification | Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) | Logitech G G915 TKL Gaming Keyboard | Microsoft Surface Pro Signature Keyboard | Apple Magic Keyboard (2021) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Switch Type | Scissor | Low-profile mechanical | Scissor | Scissor |
| Switches | Apple low-profile scissor mechanism | Logitech GL switches | Mechanical scissor keys | Apple low-profile scissor mechanism |
| Switch Options | N/A | GL Tactile; GL Linear; GL Clicky | N/A | N/A |
| Dedicated Multimedia Keys | Yes — function row | Yes — roller and media controls | Yes — function-row shortcuts | Yes — function row |
| Programmable Keys | No | Yes | No | No |
| Numeric Keypad | No | No | No | No |
| Actuation Force | Not specified | 50 gf | Not specified | Not specified |
| Actuation Point | Not specified | 1.5 mm | Not specified | Not specified |
| Total Travel | Not specified | 2.7 mm | Not specified | Not specified |
| Key Rollover | Not specified | N-key rollover | Not specified | Not specified |
| Anti-Ghosting | Not specified | Yes | Not specified | Not specified |
Connectivity
| Specification | Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) | Logitech G G915 TKL Gaming Keyboard | Microsoft Surface Pro Signature Keyboard | Apple Magic Keyboard (2021) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Connection Type | Wireless and wired | Wireless | Wired — Surface magnetic connector | Wireless and wired |
| Wireless Technology | Bluetooth | LIGHTSPEED 2.4GHz; Bluetooth | N/A | Bluetooth |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth | Bluetooth | No | Bluetooth |
| Wireless Receiver | N/A | LIGHTSPEED USB-A receiver | N/A | N/A |
| Multi-Device Connection | No | Yes — LIGHTSPEED and one Bluetooth device | N/A | No |
| Connector | USB-C | Micro-USB | Surface Pro magnetic interface connector | Lightning |
| Cable | Detachable woven USB-C charge cable | Detachable charging/data cable | N/A | Detachable Lightning to USB-A cable |
| Cable Length | 1 m | 1.8 m | N/A | 1 m |
| Wireless Range | Not specified | Not specified | N/A | Not specified |
Battery & Power
| Specification | Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) | Logitech G G915 TKL Gaming Keyboard | Microsoft Surface Pro Signature Keyboard | Apple Magic Keyboard (2021) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Battery Type | Built-in rechargeable lithium battery | Rechargeable lithium-polymer battery | N/A | Built-in rechargeable lithium battery |
| Battery Life | About one month or more between charges | Up to 40 hours with full-brightness lighting | N/A | About one month or more between charges |
| Charging Port | USB-C | Micro-USB | N/A | Lightning |
| Power Switch | Yes | Yes | N/A | Yes |
| Battery Indicator | Yes — macOS battery status | Yes | N/A | Yes — macOS battery status |
| Charging Time | Not specified | About 3 hours | N/A | Not specified |
| Battery Capacity | Not specified | Not specified | N/A | Not specified |
Lighting & Features
| Specification | Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) | Logitech G G915 TKL Gaming Keyboard | Microsoft Surface Pro Signature Keyboard | Apple Magic Keyboard (2021) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backlighting | None | RGB | White | None |
| Lighting Technology | N/A | LIGHTSYNC RGB per-key lighting | Backlit keys | N/A |
| Brightness Adjustment | N/A | Yes | Yes | N/A |
| Ambient Light Sensor | No | No | No | No |
| Proximity Sensor | No | No | No | No |
| Wrist Rest | No | No | Integrated keyboard deck | No |
| Customization Software | None | Logitech G HUB | None | None |
| Onboard Memory | No | Yes | No | No |
| Profiles / Macros | No | Up to 2 lighting profiles and 3 macro profiles onboard | No | No |
| Special Features | Touch ID for Mac models with Apple silicon; automatic pairing | Ultra-thin design; dedicated LIGHTSPEED and Bluetooth buttons; volume roller | Large glass precision touchpad; Surface Slim Pen 2 storage and charging; protective cover | Automatic pairing with Mac; low-profile rechargeable design |
System Requirements
| Specification | Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) | Logitech G G915 TKL Gaming Keyboard | Microsoft Surface Pro Signature Keyboard | Apple Magic Keyboard (2021) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| macOS | macOS 15.1 or later on a Mac with Apple silicon | macOS 10.11 or later | No | Bluetooth-enabled Mac with OS X 10.11 or later |
| Other Operating Systems | iPadOS 18.1 or later; iOS 18.1 or later | Not specified | No | iOS devices with iOS 9.1 or later |
| Required Port / Connection | Bluetooth-capable device or USB-C port | USB-A port or Bluetooth | Compatible Surface Pro magnetic keyboard connector | Bluetooth-capable device or USB-A port for charging/pairing |
| Software | None | Logitech G HUB optional | None | None |
| Windows | Not specified | Windows 7 or later | Windows 10 or Windows 11 on compatible Surface Pro | Limited keyboard functionality |
What's in the Box
| Specification | Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) | Logitech G G915 TKL Gaming Keyboard | Microsoft Surface Pro Signature Keyboard | Apple Magic Keyboard (2021) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| In the Box | Magic Keyboard with Touch ID, USB-C charge cable | G915 TKL keyboard, LIGHTSPEED USB receiver, receiver extender, Micro-USB cable, documentation | Surface Pro Signature Keyboard, safety and warranty documents; Slim Pen 2 only with selected bundle | Magic Keyboard, Lightning to USB cable |
Design
| Specification | Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) | Logitech G G915 TKL Gaming Keyboard | Microsoft Surface Pro Signature Keyboard | Apple Magic Keyboard (2021) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dimensions | 278.9 × 114.9 × 10.9 mm | 368 × 150 × 22 mm | 289.1 × 226.1 × 4.89 mm | 279 × 114.9 × 10.9 mm |
| Weight | 243 g | 810 g | 281 g | 231 g |
Specs
Apple Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (2022) specifications
General
| Brand | Apple |
|---|---|
| Model | Magic Keyboard with Touch ID (USB-C, MXCK3LL/A) |
| Announced | 2024 |
| Type | Wireless keyboard |
| Layout | Compact |
| Color | White and Silver |
| Material | Aluminum enclosure with plastic keycaps |
| Dimensions | 278.9 × 114.9 × 10.9 mm |
| Weight | 243 g |
Keys & Switches
| Switch Type | Scissor |
|---|---|
| Switches | Apple low-profile scissor mechanism |
| Switch Options | N/A |
| Actuation Force | Not specified |
| Actuation Point | Not specified |
| Total Travel | Not specified |
| Key Rollover | Not specified |
| Anti-Ghosting | Not specified |
| Dedicated Multimedia Keys | Yes — function row |
| Programmable Keys | No |
| Numeric Keypad | No |
Connectivity
| Connection Type | Wireless and wired |
|---|---|
| Wireless Technology | Bluetooth |
| Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| Wireless Receiver | N/A |
| Multi-Device Connection | No |
| Wireless Range | Not specified |
| Connector | USB-C |
| Cable | Detachable woven USB-C charge cable |
| Cable Length | 1 m |
Battery & Power
| Battery Type | Built-in rechargeable lithium battery |
|---|---|
| Battery Capacity | Not specified |
| Battery Life | About one month or more between charges |
| Charging Port | USB-C |
| Charging Time | Not specified |
| Power Switch | Yes |
| Battery Indicator | Yes — macOS battery status |
Lighting & Features
| Backlighting | None |
|---|---|
| Lighting Technology | N/A |
| Brightness Adjustment | N/A |
| Ambient Light Sensor | No |
| Proximity Sensor | No |
| Wrist Rest | No |
| Customization Software | None |
| Onboard Memory | No |
| Profiles / Macros | No |
| Special Features | Touch ID for Mac models with Apple silicon; automatic pairing |
System Requirements
| Windows | Limited keyboard functionality; Touch ID unavailable |
|---|---|
| macOS | macOS 15.1 or later on a Mac with Apple silicon |
| Other Operating Systems | iPadOS 18.1 or later; iOS 18.1 or later |
| Required Port / Connection | Bluetooth-capable device or USB-C port |
| Software | None |
What's in the Box
| In the Box | Magic Keyboard with Touch ID, USB-C charge cable |
|---|










