Weight
- Apple Pencil (1st Generation)
- 20.7 g
- Apple Pencil (USB-C)
- 20.5 g
Stylu comparison
Compare key specifications, features and design side by side.
01Selected ![]() Apple Pencil (1st Generation)
KSh 14,000In Stock | 02 ![]() Apple Pencil (USB-C)
KSh 14,500In Stock |
|---|







The Apple Pencil (1st Generation) is the better buy: it has a pressure-sensitive input.
The main differences to help you choose.
| Priority | Apple Pencil (1st Generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
|---|---|---|
| Weight | 20.7 g | 20.5 g |
| Charging | Pairs and charges through its Lightning connector | Pairs and charges with a USB-C cable |
| Pressure sensitivity | Pressure-sensitive input | No pressure sensitivity |
Tick a topic above to see how each product answers it.
Explore the full specifications, section by section.
| Specification | Apple Pencil (1st Generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
|---|---|---|
| Brand | Apple | Apple |
| Model | Apple Pencil (1st generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
| Specification | Apple Pencil (1st Generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
|---|---|---|
| Dimensions | 175.7 mm long from tip to cap; 8.9 mm diameter | 155 mm length; 8.9 mm diameter |
| Weight | 20.7 g | 20.5 g |
| Specification | Apple Pencil (1st Generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
|---|---|---|
| Charging | Pairs and charges through its Lightning connector; USB-C iPads in the compatibility list require Apple’s separate adapter | Pairs and charges with a USB-C cable; magnetic attachment is for storage, rather than wireless charging |
| Specification | Apple Pencil (1st Generation) | Apple Pencil (USB-C) |
|---|---|---|
| Compatibility | iPad Pro 12.9-inch (1st/2nd generation), 10.5-inch and 9.7-inch; iPad Air (3rd generation); iPad mini (5th generation); iPad (6th–10th generation) and iPad (A16). iPad 10th generation/A16 require the USB-C to Apple Pencil Adapter for pairing and charging. | iPad Pro 11-inch (1st–4th generation, M4/M5), 12.9-inch (3rd–6th generation) and 13-inch (M4/M5); iPad Air (4th/5th generation) and 11/13-inch (M2/M3/M4); iPad (10th generation/A16); iPad mini (6th generation/A17 Pro). Requires iPadOS 17.1.1 or later; hover support is model-specific. |
| Pressure Sensitivity | Pressure-sensitive input | No pressure sensitivity |
| Tilt Support | Tilt-sensitive input for shading | Tilt-sensitive input for shading |
| Wireless | Bluetooth; the manufacturer does not specify a version | Bluetooth; Apple does not specify a Bluetooth version |
| Buttons | — | No double-tap or squeeze controls |
| Haptics | — | No haptic feedback |
These products have the same published specifications.
The Apple Pencil (1st Generation) is the better buy for almost everyone, with a pressure-sensitive input.
Back to compared products ↑
Apple Pencil (1st Generation)VS
Apple Pencil Pro
Apple Pencil (1st Generation)VS
Surface Slim Pen 2
Apple Pencil (1st Generation)VS
Apple Pencil (2nd Generation)
Apple Pencil (1st Generation)VS
Microsoft Surface Pen (Stylet)
Apple Pencil (1st Generation)VS
Microsoft Surface Slim Pen 2
Apple Pencil (1st Generation)VS
Logitech Crayon Digital Pencil
Apple Pencil (1st Generation)VS
Galaxy Tab S10 Series S Pen
Apple Pencil (1st Generation)VS
Oppo AI Pen
Apple Pencil (1st Generation)VS
HP Rechargeable MPP 2.0 Tilt PenWe are here to serve you
Keep a link to this cart, or ask us to send it to you. Reminders are optional.
You may send me reminders about this cart on the channels I select. I can opt out at any time.
Only the details you provide here or in checkout are used. Reminders are optional. Privacy notice